Una carta de Hunter S. Thompson

Escrita en 1958, cuando Thompson contaba con 20 años de edad. Está publicada en la el primer volumen de “The Fear and Loathing letters”, titulado “The Proud Highway. Saga of a desperate southern gentelman. 1955-1967”.

TO HENRY EICHELBURGUER

Eichelburger was in his third year of studying biology and zoology at Tulane University. Thompson was looking to reap the fruits of an evening he had spent with “Ike” in the French Quarter, during which his friend did nothing but brag about the women he had conquered one summer in New York.

January 9, 1958
110 Morningside Drive
Apt. 53
New York, New York

Dear Ike,

I trust this missive finds you healthy, wealthy, and striving for the dean’s list. I wouldn’t have you any other way, you know.

Seriously, by now I’m sure that you’ve noticed the return address and that you’ve heaved the called-for sigh of relief at the realization that I’m not about to descend on you again… so let me come immediately to the point.

The point is very biological, and that should suit you rather well. To be brief, I am in New York for an indefinite period and I’m desperately in need of sexual satisfaction. I seem to remember now that you spent the summer up here in an apartment full of lusty young women. Where is that apartment: I must know. I would also like to know -just as soon as you can get a letter in the mail- any other names, places, addresses, and so forth, which would be of aid to a young rake prowling around this overpopulated isle. Come now, I’m sure you must know hundreds of uninhibited women I can comfort in my own peculiar manner. No living human could spend an entire summer here without making innumerable vital contacts. And I am indeed serious: if you know any drunks, bums, whores, etc. -by all means clue me in. I have come to write my way to fame and dortune, and I need colorful material.

I shall await your material by return post.

On the explanatory side, the truth of the matter is that I’m here because I have no money to go anywhere else. I had enough, but it went. I must now work.

For the past month, I’ve been staying with three law students, one of whom was at Eglin with me. I live out by Columbia now, but intend to move elsewhere within two weeks. If you know any good places to live, fill me in on that too. I’d prefer the Village, of course, but will settle for almost anything cheap: the idea being to save money to get into school next fall… not that I particulary look forward to going to school, but there are things I could learn more easily in an academic atmosphere than I could in a drunken, left-bank setting of some sort. And then too, there are things I could learn in a left-bank setting which I could never learn in school. But I suppose you know that by now.

As of now, I am unemployed. Within a week, I will have to have a job. I have a tentative one with Time magazine. but it isn’t definite and I may have to load airplanes or something like that. Anything to get money. And for that matter, if you know of anyplace where I can get a job, by all means let me know immediately. […]

Until the, I remain, sincerely,

Hunter

Etiquetas: , , , , ,

Responder

